MEDIA RELEASE JANUARY 21, 2020

FROM: NEBRASKA COACHES ASSOCIATION

## NEBRASKA HIGH SCHOOL COACHES NAMED AS NATIONAL COACH OF THE YEAR FINALISTS TWO NEBRASKA PREP COACHES TO BE INDUCTED INTO NATIONAL HALL OF FAME

The National High School Athletic Coaches Association (NHSACA) and the Nebraska Coaches Association (NCA) announced the advancement of 13 coaches and an athletic director as finalists for the National High School Athletic Coaches Association national coach of the year. The nominations were based on each coach's <u>career accomplishments</u> through the 2018-19 athletic seasons. Two former Nebraska prep coaches will be honored by being inducted into the national high school coaching hall of fame as well.

Mark	Armstrong	Athletic Director	Lincoln Southwest
Beth	McMahon	Boys Assistant	Fremont
Duane	Mendlik	Boys Basketball	Wisner-Pilger
Sean	McMahon	Boys Cross Country	Fremont
Dave	Sellon	Boys Track & Field	Fremont
Aaron	Losing	Girls Basketball	Crofton
Todd	Nott	Girls Cross Country	Plattsmouth
Sue	Ziegler	Girls Track & Field	Lincoln Lutheran
Jim	Danson	Golf	Lincoln Southwest
Lindsay	Aliano	Soccer	Elkhorn South
Todd	Petersen	Softball	Papillion-LaVista
Leigh Ann	Fetter-Witt	Swimming & Diving	Lincoln Southwest
Alan	VanCura	Volleyball	Hastings St. Cecilia
Norm	Manstedt	Wrestling	High Plains

Eight finalists from across the nation, in nineteen recognized sports categories will be honored during the National Coach of the Year Awards Banquet which will take place at the NHSACA's national convention (merged with the annual NCA Multi-Sports Clinic) in Lincoln, Nebraska on the evening of July 23. The highlight of the banquet will be the naming of the NHSACA national coach of the year in each sports category.

All Nebraska coaches were nominated for this national honor by the Nebraska Coaches Association. The selection is based on career longevity, service to high school athletics, honors, championship years, and winning percentage. The nominees and finalists are evaluated by experts in the field of coaching using sport-specific rubrics to assign points in each category. NHSACA is the oldest coaches association in the nation formed by coaches, for coaches, and has been recognizing national coaches of the year since 1978.

**NATIONAL HALL OF FAME:** NCA Past Presidents **Jeff Bellar** and **Dan Keyser** will be inducted into the national high school coaching hall of fame at the same NHSACA Convention. Hall of Fame ceremonies will take place in Lincoln on July 22.